Exposition Fairwind

Baha Mar

L’exposition Fairwind met en lumière plus de 150 ans d’art bahaméen, du début des années 1800 aux pratiques actuelles. Les artistes présents comprennent Brent Malone, Amos Ferguson, Maxwell Taylor, Kendal Hanna, Stan Burnside, Jackson Burnside, Sue Bennett-Williams, Antonius Robert, Lynn Parotti, John Cox, Dionne Benjamin-Smith et John Beadle, entre autres, ainsi que de nombreux artistes internationaux inspirés par les Bahamas. Nombres des œuvres présentées appartiennent à la Dawn Davies Collection, une importante sélection d’œuvres historiques et contemporaines, dont la majorité est désormais introuvable ailleurs dans le monde. L’exposition Fairwind est une compilation de peintures, sculptures et photographies qui met en lumière d’importants récits, passés et contemporains, pour mieux comprendre cet endroit des Bahamas.

Khia Poitier
Sophia Whitehead
Roland Rose
Roland Rose
Erik Kruthoff
Delton Barrett
Ricardo Knowles
Gio Swaby
1578795122698807713_26581559
Melissa Alcena
Kendal Hanna
1578795122698807713_26581559
John Beadle
1578795122698807713_26581559
Stan Burnside

À propos de la collectionneuse

À propos de la collectionneuse

Dawn Davies

Dawn Davies est née à Nassau, New Providence, d’un père écossais et d’une mère bahaméenne. Elle est allée à l’école St Andrew’s à Nassau puis à l’université de Strathclyde à Glasgow, en Écosse. Et elle a par la suite obtenu un MBA de l’University of Miami en Floride. Elle a fait carrière dans le secteur des services financiers aux Bahamas.

Dawn Davies soutient avec ferveur l’art bahaméen, qu’elle collectionne. Elle a réuni au fil des années une vaste collection. En 2012, elle a publié un ouvrage complet intitulé Love & Responsibility – The Dawn Davies Collection, pour célébrer l’art bahaméen vu à travers sa collection. Le livre fait office de catalogue de l’ampleur culturelle et est un outil important pour documenter la culture et l’histoire des Bahamas. Le volume 2 est actuellement en cours. Elle a également publié TABLESCAPES Just for Fun en 2014 qui offre un aperçu de sa maison et de son jardin. Il traite du plaisir que procurent les tables soignées et l’agencement des objets trouvés dans ses placards et son jardin.

Passionnée par la communauté créative, Dawn Davies a été membre du Board of The Harry Moore Scholarship Committee (conseil du comité de bourses Harry Moore) pendant 13 ans. Elle fait actuellement partie du conseil de la National Art Gallery des Bahamas et de la fondation Charitable Arts Foundation. Elle s’intéresse et est également membre des institutions suivantes : Bahamas National Trust, B.R.E.E.F., le Nassau Garden Club, l’International Garden Club, la Bahamas Historical Society et la Nassau Music Society.

Nous sommes ravis de bénéficier d’un prêt de plusieurs œuvres d’art de la collection de Dawn Davies afin de partager l’histoire de l’art et de la culture des Bahamas. Sa collection alimente l’exposition Fairwind d’œuvres nous donnant un aperçu de la précieuse identité des Bahamas.

Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink SoftwarePowered By OneLink

Fairwind Exhibition

Baha Mar

The Fairwind Exhibition showcases over 150 years of Bahamian Art, beginning in the early 1800s up to the practices of today. Featured Artists include Brent Malone, Amos Ferguson, Maxwell Taylor, Kendal Hanna, Stan Burnside, Jackson Burnside, Sue Bennett-Williams, Antonius Robert, Lynn Parotti, John Cox, Dionne Benjamin-Smith and John Beadle, and others, as well as a plethora of International Artists who have been inspired by The Bahamas. Many of the showcased works belong to The Dawn Davies Collection, a profound assortment of both historical and contemporary works, majority of which are no longer found anywhere in the world. The Fairwind Exhibition is a compilation of painting, sculpture and photography that shine light on important narratives, both in the past and present, allowing for a better understanding of this Bahamian place.

Khia Poitier
Sophia Whitehead
Roland Rose
Roland Rose
Erik Kruthoff
Delton Barrett
Ricardo Knowles
Gio Swaby
Lynn Parotti
Melissa Alcena
Kendal Hanna
Lynn Parotti
John Beadle
Lynn Parotti
Stan Burnside

About the Collector

About the Collector

Dawn Davies

Dawn Davies was born in Nassau, New Providence, to a Scottish father and a Bahamian mother. She attended St Andrew’s School in Nassau and the University of Strathclyde in Glasgow, Scotland, later earning an MBA from the University of Miami, Florida. She pursued a career in the financial services sector in The Bahamas.

Davies is a passionate supporter and collector of Bahamian art and over the years has put together an extensive collection. In 2012, she published a comprehensive book, titled Love & Responsibility – The Dawn Davies Collection, to celebrate Bahamian art as seen through her collection. The book acts as a catalogue of cultural currency, an important tool in documenting Bahamian culture and history. Volume 2 is currently in process. Additionally, in 2014, she published TABLESCAPES Just for Fun, which offered an insight into her home and garden and the pleasure to be derived from curating tables and settings with objects found in one’s cupboards and garden.

Very much interested in the creative community, Davies was a thirteen-year member of the Board of The Harry Moore Scholarship Committee, and is currently on the Board of the National Art Gallery of The Bahamas and the Charitable Arts Foundation. Her interests and memberships include the Bahamas National Trust, B.R.E.E.F., the Nassau Garden Club, the International Garden Club, the Bahamas Historical Society and the Nassau Music Society.

We are pleased to have been loaned selected artworks from Davies’ collection to aid in telling the story of Bahamian art and culture. Her collection has fueled the Fairwind Exhibition with works that give us insight into the precious identity of The Bahamas.