Son Oui Non

Galerie et centre d’art The Current

Baha Mar

Expositions d’art au Baha Mar Resort

Bien plus qu’une grande collection d’art contemporain, la galerie et le centre d’art The Current est une plateforme pour les expériences artistiques puissantes des Bahamas. Un centre d’art pour reconnaître et soutenir une communauté forte et créative par le biais d’expositions, d’ateliers et de conférences, de résidences d’artistes et de partenariats avec les collectionneurs locaux.

Programmes

Visite guidée des œuvres

Vous souhaitez en apprendre davantage sur les œuvres que vous apercevez à Baha Mar ? Rejoignez-nous pour une visite guidée de 50 minutes sur 1,5 km de l’art des Bahamas conservé au sein des marques de luxe de Baha Mar. Chaussures de marche recommandées.

Réserver dès maintenant

Programmes

Visite Fairwind

Découvrez plus de 100 ans d’art et de culture des Bahamas avec une visite guidée d’une heure de l’exposition au palais des congrès.

Réserver dès maintenant

Visite guidée des œuvres

Vous souhaitez en apprendre davantage sur les œuvres que vous apercevez à Baha Mar ? Rejoignez-nous pour une visite guidée de 50 minutes sur 1,5 km de l’art des Bahamas conservé au sein des marques de luxe de Baha Mar. Chaussures de marche recommandées.

Réserver dès maintenant

Visite Fairwind

Découvrez plus de 100 ans d’art et de culture des Bahamas avec une visite guidée d’une heure de l’exposition au palais des congrès.

Réserver dès maintenant

L'équipe

Dirigée par le directeur artistique John Cox, né aux Bahamas, l’équipe de la galerie et du centre d’art The Current offre un point de vue unique, ainsi qu’une grande richesse de connaissances et de créativité, sur la culture artistique de Baha Mar.

Résidence d’art

Un programme de résidence d’art pour les Bahamas sans précédent se trouve au cœur de la programmation de la galerie et du centre d’art The Current. Des artistes locaux et internationaux ont l’occasion de poursuivre leurs idées artistiques dans notre studio et de les exprimer grâce à des expositions, des conférences et des ateliers pour fasciner et informer les clients Baha Mar.

DÉCOUVRIR DAVANTAGE

COLLECTION PERMANENTE

COLLECTION PERMANENTE

La Collection permanente

La Collection Baha Mar regroupe une sélection exceptionnelle d’art des Bahamas composée de plus de 2 500 œuvres d’artistes locaux aux talents multiples, partageant tous un amour inconditionnel pour les Bahamas. Cette exposition impressionnante est supervisée par John Cox, un artiste polyvalent de renom et ancien conservateur en chef de la Galerie d’art national des Bahamas.

DÉCOUVRIR DAVANTAGE

COLLECTION FAIRWIND

COLLECTION FAIRWIND

Exposition Fairwind

Les idéologies, les croyances et les styles de vie qui ont façonné la culture des Bahamas s’entrecroisent tout au long de cette exposition éclectique conçue pour informer, inspirer et mettre en lumière l’âme de cet archipel unique.

Regroupant plus de 100 ans d’art des Bahamas, l’exposition utilise des peintures, des photographies, des sculptures, des artefacts et des multimédias pour raconter un récit visuel et auditif authentique.

DÉCOUVRIR DAVANTAGE

VENTE

Présentant des expositions d’art des Bahamas pour soutenir les artistes locaux, la galerie et centre d’art The Current présente également des ateliers et des conférences d’art.

Événements spéciaux

Peinture de paysages

Mondays at 2pm & 6pm

$65 (VAT Incl)

Lino Printing

Tuesdays at 2pm & 6pm

$65 (VAT Incl)

Leaf Printing

Thursdays at 2pm, 4pm & 7pm

$65 (VAT Incl)

Acrylic Pouring

Fridays at 2pm, 4pm & 7pm

$75 (VAT Incl)

Sip N' Paint

Saturdays at 11am, 2pm & 6pm

$75 (VAT Incl)

Private Lessons

Time Upon Request

$120 (VAT Incl)

Traveling Private Lessons

Time Upon Request

$150 (VAT Incl)

Art Tours

Time Upon Request

$25 (VAT Incl)

Visite Fairwind

Time Upon Request

$25 (VAT Incl)

Événements spéciaux

Peinture de paysages

Mondays at 2pm & 6pm

$65 (VAT Incl)

Lino Printing

Tuesdays at 2pm & 6pm

$65 (VAT Incl)

Leaf Printing

Thursdays at 2pm, 4pm & 7pm

$65 (VAT Incl)

Acrylic Pouring

Fridays at 2pm, 4pm & 7pm

$75 (VAT Incl)

Sip N' Paint

Saturdays at 11am, 2pm & 6pm

$75 (VAT Incl)

Private Lessons

Time Upon Request

$120 (VAT Incl)

Traveling Private Lessons

Time Upon Request

$150 (VAT Incl)

Art Tours

Time Upon Request

$25 (VAT Incl)

Visite Fairwind

Time Upon Request

$25 (VAT Incl)

Nous contacter

Pour en savoir plus sur la galerie et centre d’art The Current ou pour vous inscrire à l’un de nos programmes, contactez-nous aujourd’hui !

SE RENSEIGNER MAINTENANT

John Cox

Décrit par un critique de Harvard comme « un artiste simple créant de l’art sophistiqué », Cox est connu pour ses peintures grand format, ses assemblages d’objets trouvés, ses collages et sa gravure non traditionnelle. Ses œuvres font souvent référence à des idées et des endroits lointains, mais sont réalisées à l’aide de matériaux familiers et communs.

Né à Nassau en 1973, Cox a suivi des cours à la Rhode Island School of Design à Providence, Rhode Island, où il a reçu un Baccalauréat en beaux-arts en illustration (95) et un MAT dans l’éducation de l’art (96). Ensuite, il a enseigné au département d’art du College of the Bahamas pendant six ans puis a enseigné pendant quatre ans à la Galerie d’art nationale des Bahamas.

Cox, actuellement Directeur artistique de Baha Mar, a exposé ses œuvres et participé à des échanges en France, en Italie, en Allemagne, à Hong Kong, aux États-Unis et aux Caraïbes.

Jordanna Kelly

Originaire des Bahamas, Kelly déclare que son amour de l’art lui vient des 3 P : Pensée, Pinceau et Passion. Ses compositions et ses assemblages élaborés qui utilisent différentes techniques décrivent une imagerie et des motifs floraux et figuratifs grâce à l’utilisation inattendue, et bien souvent industrielle, de matériaux. Les œuvres qui en résultent sont à la fois subtiles et pleines d’assurance. Elles évoquent des idées intéressantes tout en cherchant à créer des rapports émotionnels.

Elle a été la première bénéficiaire de la bourse The Astarita Nassuvian Art Scholarship du College of The Bahamas, où elle a obtenu son diplôme d’art avec la mention Top Distinction.

En 2016, Kelly a remporté la 33e compétition d’art annuelle de la Central Bank of the Bahamas, devenant la seule femme à l’emporter dans les catégorie junior et senior.

Ses œuvres ont été exposées à la National Art Gallery of The Bahamas, au Public Treasury, à la Pro Gallery, à la D’Aguilar Art Foundation, et à la Central Bank of the Bahamas.

Natascha Vazquez

L’artiste peintre N. Vazquez est titulaire d’une maîtrise en arts (MFA) du Savannah College of Art and Design et d’une licence en beaux-arts (BFA) du Rollins College, en Floride. Son travail a été présenté à l’occasion d’expositions locales et internationales aux Bahamas, en France, en Géorgie et en Floride.

En 2016, N. Vazquez est retournée à Nassau, aux Bahamas, avec l’envie de démontrer dans ce pays qu’elle aime ses compétences et savoirs acquis de par le monde. Elle s’est attachée à améliorer la reconnaissance des arts et de l’histoire des arts aux Bahamas, avec la volonté de partager son amour et sa passion pour les beaux-arts. Natascha Vazquez a suivi un stage à la National Art Gallery of the Bahamas. Elle y a notamment bénéficié d’une bourse d’étude pour réaliser un travail d’écriture sur des œuvres présentées dans des expositions permanentes et temporaires.

N. Vazquez exerce actuellement en tant que responsable de la programmation du studio et galerie d’art The Current au Baha Mar. Par ailleurs, elle poursuit ses travaux d’écriture pour la National Art Gallery of the Bahamas.

Powered By OneLink

Sound On Off

The Current Gallery & Art Center

Baha Mar

Art Exhibits at Baha Mar Resort

Much more than a vast collection of contemporary art, The Current Gallery and Art Center is a hub for compelling Bahamian artistic experiences. A center for recognizing and supporting a strong creative community through captivating exhibitions, workshops and lectures, artist residences and partnerships with local collectors.

Programs

Abstract Painting

This course is recommended for painters of all levels, including beginners! Explore the paint as a subject matter and learn to mix, blend and paint your way into Abstract Painting Paradise! We will sample the techniques seen in the art work we study during a guided art walk.

Reserve A Class

Programs

Intro to Printmaking

After overviewing various print-making methods through the ages you will be shown a live demonstration of a few mono-printing and collagraph printing. All the tools, props and guidance you need to cut, ink, print and create individual designs will be at your fingertips.

Reserve A Class

Programs

Figure Drawing Class

The representation of the human figure is a fun and fascinating observational course. This course uses simple materials—charcoal and soft pastels—as means of discovery. You will learn about the process of the “drawn” language and transform a blank space into an expressive 2D form.

Reserve A Class

Programs

Outdoor Painting (Landscapes)

This course is recommended for painters of all levels, including beginners. Explore the fundamentals of drawing and painting, sampling different techniques using types of wet and dry media seen in various artists’ works during a property art tour. All supplies are provided.

Reserve A Class

Programs

Art Tour

Want to learn more about the artwork you’ve been seeing around Baha Mar? Join us for a guided 50 minute tour though 1 mile of Bahamian art curated throughout the luxurious brands at Baha Mar. Walking shoes suggested.

Reserve A Class

Programs

Fairwind Tour

Explore over 100 years of Bahamian Art and Culture with a guided hour-long tour of the Exhibition in the convention center.

Reserve A Class

Abstract Painting

This course is recommended for painters of all levels, including beginners! Explore the paint as a subject matter and learn to mix, blend and paint your way into Abstract Painting Paradise! We will sample the techniques seen in the art work we study during a guided art walk.

Reserve A Class

Intro to Printmaking

After overviewing various print-making methods through the ages you will be shown a live demonstration of a few mono-printing and collagraph printing. All the tools, props and guidance you need to cut, ink, print and create individual designs will be at your fingertips.

Reserve A Class

Figure Drawing Class

The representation of the human figure is a fun and fascinating observational course. This course uses simple materials—charcoal and soft pastels—as means of discovery. You will learn about the process of the “drawn” language and transform a blank space into an expressive 2D form.

Reserve A Class

Outdoor Painting (Landscapes)

This course is recommended for painters of all levels, including beginners. Explore the fundamentals of drawing and painting, sampling different techniques using types of wet and dry media seen in various artists’ works during a property art tour. All supplies are provided.

Reserve A Class

Art Tour

Want to learn more about the artwork you’ve been seeing around Baha Mar? Join us for a guided 50 minute tour though 1 mile of Bahamian art curated throughout the luxurious brands at Baha Mar. Walking shoes suggested.

Reserve A Class

Fairwind Tour

Explore over 100 years of Bahamian Art and Culture with a guided hour-long tour of the Exhibition in the convention center.

Reserve A Class

The Team

Led by Creative Art Director and Bahamian native John Cox, The Current Gallery & Art Center team provides a unique perspective, as well as a wealth of knowledge and creativity, to the artistic culture of Baha Mar.

Art Residency

At the heart of The Current Gallery & Art Center’s programming is an unprecedented residency program for The Bahamas. Local and international artists have the opportunity to follow their artistic pursuits in our studio space, culminating in exhibitions, lectures and workshops designed to captivate and inform Baha Mar guests.

DISCOVER MORE

PERMANENT COLLECTION

PERMANENT COLLECTION

The Permanent Collection

The Baha Mar Collection is an exceptional selection of Bahamian art comprised of more than 2,500 pieces from variously talented local artists—all sharing a common unconditional love for The Bahamas. This impressive display is overseen by John Cox, a renowned mixed-media artist and former chief curator of the National Art Gallery of The Bahamas.

DISCOVER MORE

FAIRWIND COLLECTION

FAIRWIND COLLECTION

Fairwind Exhibition

The ideologies, beliefs and lifestyles that have shaped the culture of The Bahamas weave their way through this diverse display designed to inform, inspire and expose the soul of this unique archipelago nation.

Encompassing more than 100 years of Bahamian art, the exhibition utilizes paintings, photography, sculpture, artifacts and multimedia to communicate an authentic visual and auditory narrative.

DISCOVER MORE

RETAIL

Showcasing Bahamian art exhibitions in support of local artists, the dynamic Current Gallery and Art Center also features art workshops and lectures.

Special Events

Art Classes

Tuesday, Thursday, Friday & Saturday

Abstract Painting

Saturdays at 11am

Intro to Printmaking

Wednesdays at 2pm

Special Events

Art Classes

Tuesday, Thursday, Friday & Saturday

Abstract Painting

Saturdays at 11am

Intro to Printmaking

Wednesdays at 2pm

Contact Us

For more information about The Current Gallery and Art Center or to enroll in one of our programs, contact us today!

INQUIRE NOW

John Cox

Once described by a Harvard critic as “an unsophisticated artist producing sophisticated art,” Cox is known for large format paintings, found object assemblages, collage and non-traditional printmaking. His work often references distant places and ideas, but is executed with familiar and ordinary materials.

Born in Nassau in 1973, Cox attended Rhode Island School of Design in Providence, Rhode Island, where he received a BFA in Illustration (’95) and an MAT in Art Education (’96). Afterwards, he went on to teach in the Art Department at the College of the Bahamas for six years followed by four years working in Education at the National Art Gallery of the Bahamas.

Currently serving as Baha Mar’s Director of Art, Cox has exhibited and participated in exchanges in France, Italy, Germany, Hong Kong, the United States and the Caribbean.

Jordanna Kelly

A native of The Bahamas, Kelly says her love for art comes from the 3 H’s—Head, Heart and Hand. Her well-crafted multi-media compositions and assemblages describe ephemeral floral and figurative patterns and imagery using unexpected—and often industrial—materials. The results are both delicate and assertive, providing interesting ideas while also striving to create emotional connections.

She was the first recipient of The Astarita Nassuvian Art Scholarship from the College of The Bahamas, where she graduated with the Top Distinction in Art.

In 2016, Kelly won the 33rd Annual Art Competition at The Central Bank of the Bahamas, being the only woman to win both the junior and senior categories.

Her work has been exhibited in the National Art Gallery of The Bahamas, The Public Treasury, The Pro Gallery, The D’Aguilar Art Foundation, and The Central Bank of the Bahamas.

Natascha Vazquez

Vazquez has an MFA in Painting from The Savannah College of Art and Design and a BFA in Painting from Rollins College, Florida. Her work has been exhibited both internationally and domestically in the Bahamas, France, Georgia and Florida.

In 2016, Vazquez returned to Nassau, Bahamas, with hopes of bringing the skills and knowledge acquired abroad to the country she loves. She felt a strong desire to aid in the building of an appreciation for art and art history in the Bahamas, aiming to spread the love and passion she has for fine art. Vazquez completed an internship at The National Art Gallery of the Bahamas, where she facilitated in developing scholarship writing on works in both their permanent collection and on temporary display.

Vazquez is currently the Programming Manager at The Current Studio & Gallery at Baha Mar. She also writes for The National Art Gallery of the Bahamas.