Les BahamasL’île de New Providence

Baha Mar

Visiter les Bahamas : Le voyage d’une vie

Sur le littoral nord de l’île de New Providence, vous pourrez profiter des plages de sable blanc et des eaux turquoises paisibles de la plage isolée de Cable Beach, généralement considérée comme l’une des plages les plus grandioses des Bahamas. Fort de sa riche histoire comme destination prisée par la jet-set internationale, ce littoral immaculé reprend vie grâce à une nouvelle génération de voyageurs à la recherche d’un resort aux Bahamas où ils peuvent se divertir, recharger leurs batteries et s’immerger dans la culture dynamique des îles.

Environnement

°

/

°
HUMIDITÉ : %
VENT : km/h

NASSAU BAHAMAS

Une place au

soleil

L’île de New Providence se dresse au beau milieu des eaux cristallines à seulement 290 km au sud-est de la Floride, au centre des 700 îles uniques et magnifiques des Bahamas. L’île abrite la capitale Nassau, elle incarne l’essence de la culture et du commerce des Bahamas. L’emplacement idéal de Baha Mar à 12 minutes seulement en voiture de l’aéroport international Lynden Pindling, votre séjour aux Bahamas commence dès que vous mettez pied à terre.

Eaux turquoises, sable blanc

Observez la faune

Durant votre séjour à Baha Mar, vous rencontrerez de nombreuses espèces incroyables de la faune locale. Notre sanctuaire écologique interactif vous permettra d’approcher des requins-nourrices, des tortues de mer et des raies. Notre habitat de flamants roses accueille une nuée époustouflante de l’oiseau national emblématique des Bahamas. Partez faire de la plongée avec masque et tuba, de la plongée sous-marine ou en bateau dans les eaux cristallines autour du resort, vous avez de grandes chances de tomber nez à nez avec des bancs éblouissants de poissons tropicaux, des dauphins amicaux et différents types de baleines.

Vie aquatique bahamienne

Un climat de

perfection

Les jours de mauvais temps sont un phénomène rare à Nassau, les températures rendent les séjours à Nassau paradisiaques tout au long de l’année. En moyenne, le soleil brille 320 jours par an, avec des températures pendant la saison humide d’été (de mai à novembre) allant de 25 à 30 °C et des températures pendant la saison sèche d’hiver (de décembre à avril) allant de 18 à 25 °C.

Météo bahamienne
28 °C : la température moyenne en été

Histoire

Passé et présent

À l’origine peuplées par les Lucayens, les colons européens ont apporté le développement de l’agriculture dans les îles à la fin du XVe siècle. Les Bahamas furent déclarées colonie britannique en 1718. Elles obtinrent leur indépendance en 1973. Aujourd’hui, la population afro-bahamienne représente plus de 90 % de la population et perpétue la culture grâce à ses nombreuses coutumes, son grand sens de l’hospitalité et son talent artistique. Les Bahamas disposent d’un gouvernement parlementaire stable et de l’une des économies les plus florissantes des Caraïbes, avec un fort accent sur les secteurs touristique et bancaire.

L’époque de la

piraterie

De 1690 à 1720, les Bahamas ont abrité certains des pirates les plus légendaires du monde, notamment Barbe Noire, Anne Bonny et Calico Jack. Attirés par la proximité des îles aux voies de navigation des navires de marchandises, ces pirates étaient plus nombreux que les quelques centaines d’habitants des îles et ont facilement pris le contrôle de la région. Ils furent finalement expulsés par le gouverneur Woodes Rogers, qui a prononcé une phrase devenue célèbre : « Piracy expelled, commerce restored » (Piraterie expulsée, commerce rétabli). Cette phrase est restée la devise des Bahamas jusqu’à la proclamation de leur indépendance en 1973.

Pirates des Bahamas : Barbe Noire

La plage glamour de

Cable Beach

L’essor du transport commercial aérien au début des années 1950 a permis à Nassau, et notamment à Cable Beach, d’entrer dans une nouvelle ère de prospérité. La population mondaine d’Amérique du Nord et les aristocrates britanniques regroupés sous le terme de « jet-set » ont commencé à passer leurs hivers ici, à organiser des fêtes élégantes sur le littoral, à déguster des cocktails au rhum dans des clubs privés sur la plage et à profiter de la chaleur et de la beauté des îles. Aujourd’hui, les Bahamas accueillent tous les styles de voyageurs avertis, mais sur la plage de Cable Beach, l’esprit du glamour bahamien perdure.

Glamorous Cable Beach

Communauté

Conservation

L’écosystème naturel des Bahamas est notre plus grande ressource, mais également la plus fragile. C’est pourquoi Baha Mar s’engage à la conservation de notre île. Grâce à des pratiques de durabilité environnementale, des partenariats avec des organisations environnementales telles que The Reef Rescue Network et des efforts d’éducation dans notre sanctuaire écologique, nous continuerons de faire tout notre possible pour préserver la splendeur des Bahamas.

Conservation

Culture

Baha Mar est bien plus qu’un simple resort : c’est le centre névralgique de la culture des Bahamas. Vous trouverez la galerie d’art The Current, où des artistes locaux et internationaux ainsi que des écrivains peuvent collaborer et créer. Tout au long de l’année, le resort accueille également le Junkanoo et des spectacles musicaux animés, qui font découvrir le rythme inoubliable des îles aux visiteurs.

John Cox

Communauté

En tant que l’un des plus grands employeurs des Bahamas, Baha Mar se consacre à la communauté de l’île. Depuis notre ouverture en 2017, nous avons sponsorisé l’équipe nationale de basket, Fourteen Clubs, une organisation locale de golf pour la jeunesse et The Valley Boys, l’un des meilleurs groupes de Junkanoo des Bahamas.

Communauté
320 jours de soleil par an

Cuisine


Les spécialités culinaires des Bahamas sont aussi variées que le pays lui-même. Des ingrédients frais, locaux et des traditions culinaires séculaires font des Bahamas une destination prisée des amateurs de gastronomie.

Les spécialités locales tirent profit des fruits de mer abondants autour de l’île, tels que le mérou et le vivaneau cuisinés et servis dans de nombreuses recettes délicieuses. Vous dégusterez également des fruits tropicaux tels que la mangue, la noix de coco et la goyave dans de nombreux plats, ainsi que dans des cocktails comme le daïquiri et le Goombay Smash.

La scène gastronomique des Bahamas est en constante évolution, à mesure que les chefs des quatre coins du monde affluent sur les îles. Ils apportent chacun des saveurs internationales et échangent des idées avec les experts locaux de la gastronomie dont les recettes puisent abondamment dans les coutumes des Bahamas.

La beauté naturelle des Bahamas s’étend sur un territoire conséquent : elle occupe plus de 700 îles dans l’océan Atlantique

Culture

Artisanat

Les Bahamas accueillent des centaines d’artisans talentueux. Beaucoup d’entre eux pratiquent l’art du tissage à la paille, qui est ancré dans la tradition des Bahamas depuis des siècles. Ces artisans utilisent plus de 60 styles uniques de tissage pour créer de magnifiques paniers, sacs à main, poupées et bien plus encore. Dans les marchés locaux, vous trouverez aussi des créations à partir de coquillages, de sisal, de bois et de noix de coco, qui servent d’hommages respectueux de l’environnement à l’histoire et à la culture du pays.

Culture des Bahamas : l’artisanat de la paille

Musique et

danse

Même si les Bahamas sont le berceau de nombreux styles de danse et de musique traditionnelles, tous s’unissent lors de plus grande célébration : Junkanoo.

Ce festival inoubliable, qui a lieu entre Noël et le Nouvel an, propose des festivités animées dans les rues qui allient danse rythmique, costumes colorés et finement élaborés et concerts avec des percussions, des carillons, des sifflets et des cuivres.

Culture des Bahamas : l’artisanat de la paille

Sport

Assister et participer à des activités sportives constitue un passe-temps important pour les Bahamiens, qui profitent d’une météo presque parfaite tout au long de l’année pour jouer. Même si, officiellement, le cricket est le sport national des Bahamas, le basket, le foot et l’athlétisme sont également très populaires.

Culture des Bahamas : l’artisanat de la paille

#bahamoment

Logo Instagram

Be a flamingo. Stay balanced, stand by your flock, and always be…

Happy Honeymoon Vibes #happyhoneymoon #honeymoonvibes #pinacoladavibes #bahamas #bahamarrosewood #bahamar #themomentivebeenwaitingfor

Book the ticket, buy the bikini and never look back. 📷: @caitlynwarakomski

thalassophile.

Photo Instagram

Be a flamingo. Stay balanced, stand by your flock, and always be fabulous 💕 • • • • • • • • • •…

Photo Instagram

Happy Honeymoon Vibes #happyhoneymoon #honeymoonvibes #pinacoladavibes #bahamas #bahamarrosewood #bahamar #themomentivebeenwaitingfor

Photo Instagram

Book the ticket, buy the bikini and never look back. 📷: @caitlynwarakomski

Photo Instagram

thalassophile.

Powered By OneLink

The BahamasThe Island of New Providence

Baha Mar

Visiting the Bahamas: Take the Trip of a Lifetime

On the northern shore of New Providence Island, you’ll find the white sands and tranquil turquoise waters of secluded Cable Beach, widely regarded as one of the most breathtaking beaches in The Bahamas. With a rich history as a destination for the international jetset, this pristine shoreline is experiencing a revival among a new generation of travelers looking for a Bahamas resort vacation where they can play, recharge, and experience the vibrant culture of the islands.

Environment

°

/

°
HUMIDITY:%
WIND:km/h

NASSAU BAHAMAS

A Place in

the Sun

New Providence Island is located in the sparkling waters just 180 miles southeast of Florida, centrally placed among the 700 unique and beautiful islands of The Bahamas. The island is home to the capital city of Nassau and recognized as the heart of Bahamian culture and commerce. With Baha Mar just a 12-minute drive from Nassau’s Lynden Pindling International Airport, your Bahamas vacation can start as soon as you arrive.

Turquoise Waters White Sands

Go Wild

While exploring Baha Mar, you’ll encounter many of the incredible species of wildlife native to The Bahamas. Our interactive ecosanctuary will bring you up close to nurse sharks, sea turtles, and stingrays, while our one-of-a-kind Flamingo Habitat is home to a stunning flock of The Bahamas’ iconic national bird. Snorkeling, scuba diving, or boating in the crystal-clear waters around the resort, you’re likely to find dazzling rainbows of tropical fish, friendly dolphins, and several types of whales.

Bahamian Aquatic Life

A Climate of

Perfection

There are simply very few days without magnificent temperatures in Nassau, making a trip to The Bahamas ideal in any month. On average, the sun shines 320 days a year, with temperatures during the summer wet season (May – November) ranging from 77 – 87 °F and temperatures in the winter dry season (December – April) ranging from 64 – 77 °F.

Bahamian Weather
82 °F: The average summer temperature

History

Then and Now

Originally inhabited by native Lucayan islanders, European settlers brought agricultural development to the islands beginning in the late 1400s. The Bahamas was declared a British colony in 1718, which it remained until independence was granted in 1973. Today, Afro-Bahamians comprise over 90% of the population and drive the culture with their rich customs, warm hospitality, and creative artistry. The Bahamas enjoy a stable parliamentary government and one of the strongest economies in the Caribbean, based largely around tourism and banking.

Age Of

Piracy

From 1690 to 1720, The Bahamas were home to some of the world’s most legendary pirates, including Blackbeard, Anne Bonny, and Calico Jack. Attracted by the islands’ close proximity to cargo-rich shipping lanes, these pirates outnumbered the island’s few hundred inhabitants and easily took total control of the region. They were finally expelled by Governor Woodes Rogers, who coined the phrase “Piracy expelled, commerce restored.” This remained the national motto of The Bahamas until independence was claimed in 1973.

Pirates of The Bahamas - Blackbeard

Glamorous

Cable Beach

The rise of commercial air travel in the early 1950s brought a glittering new era to Nassau, and especially to Cable Beach. Wealthy socialites from North America and British aristocrats known as the “jetset” began to spend their winters here, throwing stylish parties by the shore, sipping rum cocktails at exclusive beach clubs, and enjoying all the warmth and beauty of the islands. Today, The Bahamas plays host to all types of discerning travelers, but on Cable Beach, that essence of relaxed Bahamian glamour lives on.

Glamorous Cable Beach

People

Conservation

The natural ecosystem of The Bahamas is our greatest, and most fragile resource. That’s why Baha Mar is committed to the conservation of our island home. Through innovative sustainability practices, partnerships with leading environmental organizations such as The Reef Rescue Network, and education efforts at our ecosanctuary, we will continue to do everything in our power to keep The Bahamas spectacular.

Conservation

Culture

Baha Mar is more than a resort—it’s a hub for Bahamian culture. Here you’ll find The Current gallery, a place for local and international artists and writers to collaborate and create. Throughout the year, the resort also plays host to vibrant junkanoo and music performances, introducing visitors to the unforgettable rhythm of the islands.

Community

As one of The Bahamas’ largest employers, Baha Mar is dedicated to the island community. Since our opening in 2017, we have sponsored the National Basketball Team, Fourteen Clubs, a local youth golf organization, and The Valley Boys, one of The Bahamas’ leading junkanoo groups.

320 days of sunshine a year

Food


Bahamian cuisine is as vibrant and diverse as the country itself.  Fresh, local ingredients and time-honored culinary traditions make The Bahamas an extraordinary destination for food lovers.

Local specialties often make use of bountiful seafood that surrounds the island, such as grouper and snapper served a multitude of delicious ways. You’ll also taste tropical fruits such as mango, coconut, and guava in many dishes, and in cocktails like the daiquiri and the Goombay Smash.

The Bahamian culinary scene continues to evolve, as chefs from around the world flock to the islands, bringing international flavors with them and exchanging ideas with local culinary experts steeped in the customs of The Bahamas.

The natural beauty of The Bahamas stretches far and wide—occupying more than 700 islands in the Atlantic Ocean

Culture

Craft

The Bahamas is home to hundreds of skilled artisans and craftspeople. Many practice the art of straw weaving, which has been an important part of the Bahamian tradition for centuries. These artisans use over 60 unique weaving styles to create beautiful baskets, handbags, dolls, and more. In the local markets, you will also see crafts made with shells, sisal, wood, and coconut, each serving as an environmentally friendly homage to the nation’s history and culture.

Bahamian Culture - Straw Craft

Music and

Dance

While The Bahamas is home to many styles of traditional dance and music, it all comes together for the biggest celebration of them all: Junkanoo.

Taking place between Christmas and New Year’s Day, this unforgettable festival includes high-energy street celebrations that combine rhythmic dancing; intricate, colorful costumes; and live music with drums, bells, whistles, and horns.

Bahamian Culture - Straw Craft

Sport

Watching and participating in sports is a huge pastime for Bahamians, who enjoy nearly perfect weather to play in all year long. While cricket is officially the national sport of The Bahamas, basketball, football (soccer), and track and field are all very popular.

Bahamian Culture - Straw Craft

Trending

Instagram Logo Middle

#bahamas #vacationmode #sbe #bahamar…

Pure Paradise ? Great time to transfer American Express Membership Rewards to…

#linkinbio #healthyhair #helpingothers #vegan…

Dreary New England days have got me daydreaming of where I'll be…

#rosewoodbahamar #bahamar

Last Day in Paradise ... ⛱???#BahaMar #RoseWoodBahaMar

#bahamoments

#BahaMoments don’t have an age limit. ?: @classic4agents

Instagram Photo

#bahamas #vacationmode #sbe #bahamar #rewards #pool #islands #points…

Pure Paradise ? Great time to transfer American Express Membership Rewards to Jetblue TrueBlue and fly to the Bahamas using your points . Currently…

Instagram Photo

#linkinbio #healthyhair #helpingothers #vegan #earnedtrip #livingmydream #thanksmonat #sidehustle…

Dreary New England days have got me daydreaming of where I'll be in just 44 days... for FREE. #thanksmonat #isthisreallife #icantbelieveigetpaidforthis #passionproject #sidehustle #livingmydream…

Instagram Photo

#rosewoodbahamar #bahamar

Last Day in Paradise ... ⛱???#BahaMar #RoseWoodBahaMar

Instagram Photo

#bahamoments

#BahaMoments don’t have an age limit. ?: @classic4agents