Artist-in-Residence-Programm

Baha Mar

At the heart of The Current Gallery & Art Center’s programming is an unprecedented residency program for the Bahamas. Lokale und internationale Künstler haben die Möglichkeit, in unseren Ateliers ihrer Kunst nachzugehen sowie Ausstellungen, Vorträge und Workshops zu geben, die darauf ausgerichtet sind, die Gäste des Baha Mar zu fesseln und zu informieren.

Aktueller Artist in Residence

Toby Lunn

Bis 30. November

„Die Malerei war für mich schon immer ein Mittel, um mich selbst auszudrücken. Am Anfang habe ich Portraits gezeichnet und gemalt und meinem Lehrer Stan Burnside nachgeeifert. Das war von 1988–1991. Mit der Zeit fing ich dann an, mit verschiedenen Maltechniken zu experimentieren, eine ganz natürliche Entwicklung ... Für mich hat die Psychologie des Bildermalens grenzenlose Möglichkeiten. Die Kunstwelt kann einen manchmal ganz schön durcheinanderbringen, aber wenn etwas ausgedrückt werden will, dann passiert das so oder so nach den eigenen Regeln. Egal was ich male – von meinen Portraits bis hin zu Landschaften und meinen aktuellen abstrakten Werken – ich male einfach nur.“

Toby Lunn

Bis 30. November

Aktueller Artist in Residence

Lila

Toby Lunn

2017, Acryl auf Leinwand, 102 cm x 102 cm

Midnight Noise

Kendra Frorup

2018, Monotypie, 56 cm x 76 cm

Beach Palm

John Paul Saddleton

2018, Acryl auf Papier, 20 cm x 25 cm

Failed Attempts to Fly

Delton Barrett

2018, Digitales Foto, 112 cm x 79 cm, gerahmt

From the Caged Series II (1/10)

Jordana Kelly

2015, Digitales Foto auf Leinwand, 145 cm x 114 cm

Blue Spirit

Toby Lunn

2018, Acryl auf Leinwand, 183 cm x 245 cm

Lila

Toby Lunn

2017, Acryl auf Leinwand, 102 cm x 102 cm

Midnight Noise

Kendra Frorup

2018, Monotypie, 56 cm x 76 cm

Beach Palm

John Paul Saddleton

2018, Acryl auf Papier, 20 cm x 25 cm

Failed Attempts to Fly

Delton Barrett

2018, Digitales Foto, 112 cm x 79 cm, gerahmt

From the Caged Series II (1/10)

Jordana Kelly

2015, Digitales Foto auf Leinwand, 145 cm x 114 cm

Blue Spirit

Toby Lunn

2018, Acryl auf Leinwand, 183 cm x 245 cm

Kommende Artists in Residence

Toby Lunn

Bis 30. November 2018

Allan Pachino Wallace

Bis 30. November 2018

John Paul Saddleton

Bis 30. November 2018

Kommende Artists in Residence

Toby Lunn

Bis 30. November 2018

Allan Pachino Wallace

Bis 30. November 2018

John Paul Saddleton

Bis 30. November 2018

Vorige Artists in Residence

Artist in Residence

Kendra Frorup

Artist in Residence

Drew Weech

Artist in Residence

Sue Katz

Kendra Frorup

„Das Sammeln ist Teil des Schaffens“, sagt Bildhauerin Kendra Frorup über ihre Kunstwerke. Frorup wurde in Nassau auf den Bahamas geboren und wuchs auch dort auf. Ihre Erinnerungen an diese Zeit nutzt sie für ihre Kunst. Nachdem sie ihre Kindheit auf den Bahamas verbracht hatte, nutzte sie die Gelegenheit, in den Vereinigten Staaten zu studieren und begann Werke zu schaffen, auf denen ihre Kultur zum Ausdruck kam.

Drew Weech

Drew Weech (geb. 1984 auf den Bahamas) ist ein multidisziplinärer Künstler, der sowohl abstrakt als auch figurativ arbeitet. Weech erkundet Farbe als Mittel zur Erschaffung einer Illusion von Form. Der Betrachter steht vor der Aufgabe, die reliefierten Kompositionen des Künstlers visuell zu dekonstruieren. Seine Werke sind häufig geradezu gespenstisch und versuchen, Bilder langsam und bewusst entstehen zu lassen.

Sue Katz

Sue Katz (geb. 1962 in Boston) ist eine Assemblage- und Collage-Künstlerin, die auf den Bahamas lebt und arbeitet. Durch das dynamische Schichten von Papier, Farbe und gefundenen Objekten erschafft Katz Oberflächen, die den Betrachter fesseln. Die Künstlerin präsentiert neue Möglichkeiten, traditionelle Landschaften und Portraits zu interpretieren und wahrzunehmen. Oft spiegelt die Symbolik in ihren Werken vergangene Erlebnisse wider und betont diese kurze Ära voller Unkompliziertheit, Humor und Ironie. Katz verfügt über einen BFA-Abschluss in Illustration von der Rhode Island School of Design und hat ihre Werke sowohl international als auch lokal ausgestellt, unter anderem in Galerien in Illinois, Kalifornien und Arizona. Katz ist zurzeit Artist Resident bei The Current Gallery and Studio und arbeitet an einer großen Installation für die Fairwind-Ausstellung.

Kendra Frorup

„Das Sammeln ist Teil des Schaffens“, sagt Bildhauerin Kendra Frorup über ihre Kunstwerke. Frorup wurde in Nassau auf den Bahamas geboren und wuchs auch dort auf. Ihre Erinnerungen an diese Zeit nutzt sie für ihre Kunst. Nachdem sie ihre Kindheit auf den Bahamas verbracht hatte, nutzte sie die Gelegenheit, in den Vereinigten Staaten zu studieren und begann Werke zu schaffen, auf denen ihre Kultur zum Ausdruck kam.

Drew Weech

Drew Weech (geb. 1984 auf den Bahamas) ist ein multidisziplinärer Künstler, der sowohl abstrakt als auch figurativ arbeitet. Weech erkundet Farbe als Mittel zur Erschaffung einer Illusion von Form. Der Betrachter steht vor der Aufgabe, die reliefierten Kompositionen des Künstlers visuell zu dekonstruieren. Seine Werke sind häufig geradezu gespenstisch und versuchen, Bilder langsam und bewusst entstehen zu lassen.

Sue Katz

Sue Katz (geb. 1962 in Boston) ist eine Assemblage- und Collage-Künstlerin, die auf den Bahamas lebt und arbeitet. Durch das dynamische Schichten von Papier, Farbe und gefundenen Objekten erschafft Katz Oberflächen, die den Betrachter fesseln. Die Künstlerin präsentiert neue Möglichkeiten, traditionelle Landschaften und Portraits zu interpretieren und wahrzunehmen. Oft spiegelt die Symbolik in ihren Werken vergangene Erlebnisse wider und betont diese kurze Ära voller Unkompliziertheit, Humor und Ironie. Katz verfügt über einen BFA-Abschluss in Illustration von der Rhode Island School of Design und hat ihre Werke sowohl international als auch lokal ausgestellt, unter anderem in Galerien in Illinois, Kalifornien und Arizona. Katz ist zurzeit Artist Resident bei The Current Gallery and Studio und arbeitet an einer großen Installation für die Fairwind-Ausstellung.

Kontakt

Für weitere Informationen über The Current Gallery and Art Center, oder um sich für eines unserer Programme anzumelden, kontaktieren Sie uns noch heute!

JETZT ANFRAGEN
Powered by Translations.com GlobalLink OneLink Software

Art Residency

Baha Mar

At the heart of The Current Gallery & Art Center’s programming is an unprecedented residency program for the Bahamas. Local and international artists have the opportunity to follow their artistic pursuits in our studio space, culminating in exhibitions, lectures and workshops designed to captivate and inform Baha Mar guests.

Current Art Resident

Toby Lunn

Through November 30

“Painting has always been a means of self-expression. I started out drawing and painting portraits, emulating my teacher Stan Burnside, in 1988-1991. But over time I started to experiment with different methods of painting, a natural evolution…..for me the psychology of making images has limitless possibilities. The art world can definitely mess with one’s head at times, but expression has its way of coming out the way it wants to. So with my portraits, to landscapes, to my current elusive abstractions, I am just painting.”

Toby Lunn

Through November 30

Current Art Resident

Lila

Toby Lunn

2017, Acrylic on Canvas, 40″ x 40″

Midnight Noise

Kendra Frorup

2018, Monotype, 22″ x 30″

Beach Palm

John Paul Saddleton

2018, Acrylic on Paper, 8″ x 10″

Failed Attempts to Fly

Delton Barrett

2018, Digital Photograph, 44″ x 31″, Framed

From the Caged Series II (1/10)

Jordana Kelly

2015, Digital Photograph on Canvas, 57″ x 45″

Blue Spirit

Toby Lunn

2018, Acrylic on Canvas, 72″ x 96″

Lila

Toby Lunn

2017, Acrylic on Canvas, 40″ x 40″

Midnight Noise

Kendra Frorup

2018, Monotype, 22″ x 30″

Beach Palm

John Paul Saddleton

2018, Acrylic on Paper, 8″ x 10″

Failed Attempts to Fly

Delton Barrett

2018, Digital Photograph, 44″ x 31″, Framed

From the Caged Series II (1/10)

Jordana Kelly

2015, Digital Photograph on Canvas, 57″ x 45″

Blue Spirit

Toby Lunn

2018, Acrylic on Canvas, 72″ x 96″

Upcoming Residents

Toby Lunn

Through November 30, 2018

Allan Pachino Wallace

Through November 30, 2018

John Paul Saddleton

Through November 30, 2018

Upcoming Residents

Toby Lunn

Through November 30, 2018

Allan Pachino Wallace

Through November 30, 2018

John Paul Saddleton

Through November 30, 2018

Previous Residents

Resident

Kendra Frorup

Resident

Drew Weech

Resident

Sue Katz

Kendra Frorup

“Collecting is part of the making,” states sculptor Kendra Frorup about her artwork. Frorup was born and brought up in Nassau, Bahamas and uses her memories of this time in her art. After a childhood in the Bahamas, she welcomed the opportunity to study in the United States and began to create representational images that showed a commonality with her
culture.

Drew Weech

Drew Weech (b. Bahamas, 1984) is a multi-disciplinary artist who works both abstractly and figuratively. Weech explores color as a means to create an illusion of form, challenging viewers to visually deconstruct his textured compositions. His work is often ghostly, attempting to reveal imagery in a slow and deliberate manner.

Sue Katz

Sue Katz (b. 1962, Boston) is an assemblage and collage artist working and living in The Bahamas. Through dynamic layering of paper, paint and other found objects, Katz creates stimulating surfaces that capture the viewer, presenting new ways of interpreting and perceiving traditional landscape and portraiture. Often times, the imagery in her work reflect past experiences, highlighting a fleeting era of simplicity, humor and irony. Katz received a BFA in Illustration from the Rhode Island School of Design and has exhibited her work both internationally and locally, including galleries in Illinois, California and Arizona. Katz is currently an Artist Resident at The Current Gallery and Studio, working towards creating a large-scale installation for the Fairwind Exhibition.

Kendra Frorup

“Collecting is part of the making,” states sculptor Kendra Frorup about her artwork. Frorup was born and brought up in Nassau, Bahamas and uses her memories of this time in her art. After a childhood in the Bahamas, she welcomed the opportunity to study in the United States and began to create representational images that showed a commonality with her
culture.

Drew Weech

Drew Weech (b. Bahamas, 1984) is a multi-disciplinary artist who works both abstractly and figuratively. Weech explores color as a means to create an illusion of form, challenging viewers to visually deconstruct his textured compositions. His work is often ghostly, attempting to reveal imagery in a slow and deliberate manner.

Sue Katz

Sue Katz (b. 1962, Boston) is an assemblage and collage artist working and living in The Bahamas. Through dynamic layering of paper, paint and other found objects, Katz creates stimulating surfaces that capture the viewer, presenting new ways of interpreting and perceiving traditional landscape and portraiture. Often times, the imagery in her work reflect past experiences, highlighting a fleeting era of simplicity, humor and irony. Katz received a BFA in Illustration from the Rhode Island School of Design and has exhibited her work both internationally and locally, including galleries in Illinois, California and Arizona. Katz is currently an Artist Resident at The Current Gallery and Studio, working towards creating a large-scale installation for the Fairwind Exhibition.

Contact Us

For more information about The Current Gallery and Art Center or to enroll in one of our programs, contact us today!

INQUIRE NOW